Annual Cyber SMART State of Cyber Conference

The inaugural State of Cyber conference was held in Washington DC  on 14 November 2019 to officially launch Cyber SMART on 14 November 2019. This one-day conference is part of  Cyber SMART’s public outreach and will be an annual event. However, the State of Cyber conference will be deferred in 2020 due to the Covid -19 pandemic. 

The 2019 program  featured discussion and analysis of current and emerging cyber issues and challenges from leaders in industry, government and academia.

You may watch the entire conference below.

Welcome and Introduction. Panel: Cybersecurity Ecosystem

  • Welcome & Introduction: Clare Sullivan – Director and Managing Director, Cyber SMART Research Center, Georgetown University; Spiros Dimolitsas – Senior Vice President for Research and Chief Technology Officer, Georgetown University
  • Panel – Cybersecurity Ecosystem
    • Moderator: Evelyn Remaley – Associate Administrator, Office of Policy Analysis and Development, National Telecommunications and Information Administration (NTIA), U.S. Department of Commerce
    • Panelists: Nancy Davoust – Vice President, Security Architecture, Identity, Authentication, and Access Management, Comcast Cable; Diana Kelley – Cybersecurity Field Chief Technology Officer, Microsoft; Nasrin Rezai – Chief Information Security and Product Security Officer, General Electric
  • Cybersecurity as a National Security Imperative
    • Introduction: Rudy Brioché – Vice President, Global Public Policy, Comcast Corporation
    • Speaker: Chairman Jim Langevin (D-RI)– House Armed Services Subcommittee on Intelligence and Emerging Threats and Capabilities, U.S. House of Representatives
  • View from DHS
    • Speaker: Bradford WilkeAssistant Director, Stakeholder Engagement,Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency (CISA), U.S. Department of Homeland Security
  • Fireside Chat – The State of Our Cybersecurity
    • Moderator: Norma Krayem – Senior Policy Advisor and Chair, Global Cybersecurity and Privacy Policy and Regulatory Team, Holland and Knight
    • Speaker: Chairman Bennie Thompson (D-MS) – Homeland Security Committee, U.S. House of Representatives
  • Panel – Endpoint Security
    • Moderator: Mike Bergman – Vice President, Technology & Standards, Consumer Technology Association
    • Panelists: Mike Fagan – Cybersecurity for IoT Program, NIST, U.S. Department of Commerce; Gonda LamberinkCybersecurity Senior Business Development Manager, UL; Mark Walker – Director, Technology Policy, CableLabs; Chair, Technology Policy Working Group, Open Connectivity Foundation (OCF)
  • Panel – Network Security
    • Moderator: John Godfrey – Senior Vice President, Public Policy, Samsung Electronics America
    • Panelists: Amit Elazari Bar On– Director, Global Cybersecurity Policy, Intel; Drew Morin – Director, Federal Cyber Security Technology and Engineering Programs, T-Mobile; Mark Ryland – Director, Office of the CISO, Amazon Web Services Security; Matthew Scholl – Chief, Computer Security Division, NIST
  • Panel – Back to the Future
    • Moderator: Laurent Michel – Professor, Computer Science and Engineering, University of Connecticut
    • Panelists: Donna Dodson– Chief Cybersecurity Advisor, Information Technology Laboratory, NIST; Director, National Cybersecurity Center of Excellence; Brian LaMacchia – Distinguished Engineer, Microsoft; Head of Security and Cryptography, Microsoft Research; Brian Scriber– Vice President, Security Technologies, CableLabs; Clare Sullivan – Director and Managing Director, Cyber SMART Research Center, Georgetown University
  • Panel – Security for Younger Adults
    • Moderator: Nicole Turner Lee – Fellow, Governance Studies, Center for Technology Innovation, Brookings Institution
    • Panelists: Parry Aftab – Executive Director, The Cybersafety Group; Stephen Balkam Founder and CEO, Family Online Safety Institute; Jessica Vitak – Associate Professor, College of Information Studies (iSchool), University of Maryland
  • Panel – Security Economics
    • Moderator: Vaibhav Garg – Sr. Director, Cybersecurity Public Policy and Research, Comcast Cable
    • Panelists: Eric Burger – Research Professor, Department of Computer Science, Georgetown University; Allan FriedmanDirector of Cybersecurity Initiatives, NTIA; Eric Jardine – CIGI Fellow and Assistant Professor, Global Security and Politics, Virginia Tech; Olga Livingston – Senior Economist, CISA
  • Closing Keynote
    • Introduction: Matt Eggers – Vice President, Cybersecurity Policy, U.S. Chamber of Commerce
    • Speaker: Eileen AlbaneseDirector, Office of National Security and Technology Transfer Control, Bureau of Industry and Security, U.S. Department of Commerce