Staff & Researchers

Cyber SMART Center Director

Ophir Frieder is the Robert L. McDevitt, K.S.G., K.C.H.S. and Catherine H. McDevitt L.C.H.S. Professor in Computer Science and Information Processing at Georgetown University and a Professor in the Department of Biostatistics, Bioinformatics, and Biomathematics at the Georgetown University Medical Center. He is a Fellow of the AAAS, ACM, IEEE and NAI, and an elected member of both the European Academy of Sciences and Arts and the Academia Europaea. He established the Information Retrieval Laboratory, which was funded at well over $1M annually for over a decade; he graduated well over two dozen doctoral students, many of whom have become leaders in industry; he holds over 70 US Patents; and has transferred technology to multiple companies. He will serve as PI for the Center.

Cyber SMART Director, Center Managing Director and Lead Researcher, Digital Identity and International Regulation

Professor Clare Sullivan is a cyber-lawyer specializing in digital identity, international privacy and data protection, blockchain and cyber security. She is a Visiting Professor at the Law Center, and a Fellow at the Center on National Security at Georgetown University in Washington D.C. Professor Sullivan is the author of “Digital Identity” the first text to define and examine digital identity from a legal perspective and its implications for government, business and individuals. She has authored internationally published articles on digital identity, blockchain, privacy, and cyber security and reports for the U.S, U.K., and Australian governments, and for the Commonwealth Secretariat. Professor Sullivan recently completed major private sector research that involved examination and evaluation of the privacy and data protection laws of 40 countries; the E.U. GDPR, new E.U. e-Privacy Regulation; and comparison of the E.U. model with the APEC cross-border data transfer scheme.

Professor Clare Sullivan, one of a few with both a PhD in cyber law and qualifications in international law and management, leads the cyber law team, focusing on U.S. and international law, regulation, policy and reform.  As a pioneer in the field of digital identity and a leading international researcher in this field, Professor Sullivan also leads research covering identity and international regulation. As Managing Director, Professor Sullivan is also responsible for the overall management of Cyber SMART.

Cyber SMART Director and Lead Researcher, Communications and Security

Professor Eric Burger is a Research Professor in the Department of Computer Science at Georgetown University. Since 2017, Professor Burger has been on secondment to the Federal Communications Commission as Chief Technology Officer, returning to Georgetown University on a full-time basis in October 2019. Professor Burger will then resume his role as Director of the Georgetown Center for Secure Communications (GCSC) and as proposed Co-PI for Cyber SMART at Georgetown. Professor Burger brings a wealth of experience to Cyber SMART having been Co-Director and subsequently Director of the Software and Security Engineering Center S2ERC site at Georgetown University beginning in 2013. Professor Burger holds a PhD in Computer Science, and MBA, and a SBEE from MIT, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, and IIT. Before joining Georgetown University, he has held senior roles in business management in the communications sector and in research at Valid Logic Systems and Texas Instruments, Inc.
Professor Eric Burger leads research, education, training and outreach on communications and security, bringing his industry and government experience including his recent detail to the Federal Communications Commission as its Chief Technology Officer.

Cyber SMART Director and Lead Researcher, Blockchain Eco-System

Professor Shin’ichiro Matsuo is a Research Professor at Georgetown University where he leads research on blockchain technology and ecosystem design. Professor Matsu received a Ph.D. from Tokyo Institute of Technology. He founded the, an international and neutral research test network, to promote applied academic research in Blockchain technologies; and is founding member of the Blockchain Academic Synergized Environment Alliance which promotes industrial-academic collaborative research. He serves on many program committees on Blockchain technology and information security including IEEE Security and Privacy on the Blockchain, the ACM Workshop on Blockchain, Cryptocurrencies and Contracts, the International Workshop on Cryptocurrencies and Blockchain Technology, the Crypto-Economics Security Conference, W3C Blockchain and the Web Workshop and Blockchain Protocol Analysis and Security Engineering; and he was the program Co-Chair of Scaling Bitcoin 2018 Tokyo. Professor Shinichiro leads two security standardization projects (ISO TR23245 and ISO TR23576) for Blockchain at ISO TC307. Previously he served as the head of the Japanese national body of ISO/IEC JTC1 SC27/WG2 for cryptographic techniques, and was an editor of three ISO/IEC standards on cryptographic algorithms and protocols. He was granted 13 patents on cryptography. He also served as a member of the advisory board of cryptographic technology for the Japanese government.
Professor Shin’ichiro Matsuo, a recognized international expert in cryptography and blockchain technology and advisor to both industry and government on international technology standards, leads the team responsible for blockchain and distributed ledger technology and its applications.

Executive Assistant

Johanna Lund is the Executive Assistant to the Senior Vice President of Research and Chief Technology Officer of the University, provides administrative support to Cyber SMART at Georgetown.

The University Policy Committee for Cyber SMART at Georgetown comprises the Center Director, Managing Director, and the Senior Vice President of Research and Chief Technology Officer of the University.